The local temple is a former Greek Catholic parish church. st. Paraskeva, serving from the time of resettlement to this day as a branch church of st. Nicholas of the parish in Tyrawa Wołoska. The temple was erected in 1858 by a local carpenter, Konstanty Mielnik.
It is an oriented, wooden, carcass construction, with a tower with a columnar structure, boarded vertically, with three sections. The presbytery is closed on three sides, and next to it, two sacristy, from the north and south. Roofs covered with sheet metal, multi-hipped over the presbytery, gable above the nave, hipped above the tower. Above the nave and the tower, there is an apparent turret, above the women's gallery, Makowiczka. The tower is divided by a profiled cornice into two storeys. Above the main entrance, there is a roof made during the renovation in 1902. It is covered with sheet metal with a decorative cutout and a decoration in the form of an eye of providence.
During the last renovation, the exterior of the church was painted, which refers to the fashion that prevailed in the countryside at the end of the 19th century. Then, relatively cheap, colorful paints appeared on the market, which allowed for a specific decoration of the temples.
There are flat ceilings inside. In the nave there is a representation of the Ascension, in the narthex the Annunciation. The nave was separated from the narthex by a profiled arcade in the shape of a donkey's ridge. The architectural iconostasis dates from 1908.
Elements of the tsarist gate from the older iconostasis, the modern church, are nailed to the door to both sacristy. They are openwork, with a vine motif and twelve tondas with images of prophets. In the attic, loose carved fragments have survived, also from the older iconostasis.
Around the church there is a cemetery with many old tombstones. The statue of Our Lady standing by the sidewalk leading to the entrance to the church draws attention. It is a sandstone sculpture of a very good job, which residents say that it was once thrown ashore in Hołuczków by the Tyrawka stream flowing through the village. Not knowing where the sculpture came from, the faithful placed it next to the church and held it in respect. Until today, it has not been possible to establish where the statue comes from.
Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz
This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.