The church, dating from 1754–1756, was built from larch wood. It was remodelled or renovated many times. In 1952 polychrome decorations were added inside by Marian Stroński from Przemyśl. This was a seat of the parish of Epiphany in Łukawiec until 1990, when the new church of the Blessed Virgin Mary Queen of Poland was consecrated.
A particularly important event was held in 1965, when the painting of Holy Mother, Benevolent Protector of the Sick (from the 1600s), previously worshipped in Tartakov near Sokal (today in Ukraine) was placed in the altar. In 1991 Pope John Paul II performed a ceremony of crowing the paining during his visit to Lubaczów. Today the painting is located in the new parish church – sanctuary of Our Lady of Łukawiec (Tartakov), erected during 1980–1990.
The log church comprises a single-span rectangular nave, with a vestibule in front, and a narrower chancel enclosed with semi-hexagonal walls and adjoining a sacristy on the northern side. The nave and the chancel are covered with a double-pitched roof topped with a low quadrilateral bell turret, which originally was octagonal and featured an onion-shaped cupola. It was reconstructed in the late 1940/early 1950s. The outer walls are clad with vertical wood planks, on top finished with a profiled cornice. The roofs are clad with shingles.
Inside the nave and the chancel are covered with false vaults with segmental arches. Entrance from the nave to the chancel is framed with a semi-pointed arch and profiled rood beam. On the beam there is a Latin inscription related to the foundation of the church with the date 1756. The church features original late Baroque furnishings, including the high altar dedicated to the Holy Cross in the chancel, and two side altars in the nave (for St. Joseph and the Heart of Jesus). The rood arch supports a sculpture of the Crucifixion Group. On the walls we can see paintings by Marian Stroński. Polychrome decorations painted by this artist embellish the walls and the ceilings.
Near the church we can also see the belfry as well as a rectory from the early 20th century, located south of the church complex.
Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz
This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.