Roman Catholic filial church of Sts. Peter and Paul was built in 1607−1608. It is said to have been founded by King Sigismund III Vasa.
The three-nave log church is oriented eastward. The structure is covered with a gable roof clad with sheet metal. In 1850 its reconstruction was commissioned by Józef Gwalbert Pawlikowski, owner of the local estate, economist, publicist, politician, historian of literature and one of the Polish pioneers of nature conservation. During those works, the tower, previously adjoining the nave, was dismantled and built as a separate structure. Besides that, a prolonged three-nave interior layout was added, and the ceiling was replaced with a false barrel vault. A brick sacristy, porch and turret were also added.
Inside, the walls are plastered and the church is divided into three parts by two rows of pillars. The false barrel vault can be seen in the main nave and the chancel, while the side naves have flat ceilings. The choir gallery with pipe organ casing is supported on pillars and features a rectangular bay in the centre. Inside the church is embellished with wall paintings from 1900. Recently 18th century figural and ornamental wall paintings were discovered here. The furnishings have partly been moved to the new church.
Immediately after WWII, Medyka was part of the USSR - until 1948, when as a result of the territorial changes it returned to Poland.
Zdjęcie: Krystian Kłysewicz
This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.