The parish in Kosina was probably established in 1381. An older parish church stood here until the 1600s. After it was burnt down by Tatars in 1624, the main village church was built in a different location and a filial church was built here in 1630.
The present church was erected in 1737, and a gate-belfry was added nearby in 1872. In the 1900s the building was reconstructed and its original form was changed.
The log church is oriented eastward with the chancel slightly leaning northward. On its western side there is a vestibule, and on the northern side – a sacristy. It is covered with a gable roof, topped with a turret, on the eastern side with a three-pitched roof, and a two-tier slope on the western side. The sacristy is covered with a mono-pitched roof.
Inside there are wooden ceilings, in the chancel taking a form of a flattened pseudo-barrel vault. The roof framing over the body of the building is a rafter and collar beam structure; the roofs are clad with shingles. The eastern outer wall features a wooden crucifix.
The building is a single-span structure inside. On the southern side of the nave, we can see a trace of an old door opening. The wall paintings contain illusionist elements.
The furnishings include a mannerist altar from the 17th century with a painting of St. Sebastian contributed in 1864 by Jan Tabiński, a Baroque cabinet in the sacristy from the 17th century as well as a rococo baptismal font.
The belfry, standing south of the church, also functions as an entry gate. This is a two-story brick structure, covered with plaster, and flanked with buttresses. In the upper part of the eastern wall there is a plaque with inscription RP.1872.
There is also an interesting statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary, standing on one of the earthen bastions near the church.
Colonel Leopold Lis-Kula was born in Kosina in 1896. The location of the house in which he was born is marked with a stone and a plaque. A wall painting depicting the Colonel was created in the local school in 2019 by Arkadiusz Andrejkow.
Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz
This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.