The present filial Orthodox tserkva of the Dormition of the Most Holy Mother of God before WWII was a Greek Catholic parish church. It was built in 1888–1889.
The three-part log building is oriented eastward. The entrance from the western side is framed with a decorative batten with lambrequin. The structure is covered with a gable roof, its pitches extending to the sides of the tower. The cupola over the tower is topped with a false roof lantern. Over the nave and the chancel there are onion-shaped turrets with false lanterns. The nave features a coved ceiling, and the other rooms are covered with flat ceilings. The overhanging choir gallery features a protruding parapet.
The walls inside are embellished with figural paintings from 1925. The iconostasis dates from the 1800s. This is one of the very few churches in Poland which do not have electric lights, which adds to the special atmosphere during religious celebrations.
In front of the tserkva we can see a wooden bell tower from 1889. The post-and-beam structure, clad with vertical wood boards, comprises three storeys, marked outside with skirt roofs. It is covered with a pyramid roof topped with an octagonal onion-shaped cupola. Two crosses stand nearby.
Next to the tserkva we can also see the old graveyard and a stone with the date of the tserkva construction – 1889. It is said that the date of construction of an earlier tserkva is carved on the bottom side of the stone. The parish cemetery is located north-west of the graveyard.
Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz
This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.