Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
EU founding
Domyślne kolory Wersja żółta Wersja czarno biała Wersja czarno zółta
pl en ua
Page settings
Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
Szlak Historycznych Receptur


Greek-Catholic Tserkva of St. Nicholas

The first record of an endowment for the tserkva existing here comes from 1589. The present Greek-Catholic tserkva of St. Nicholas was built in 1904−1906.

After the local population was relocated in 1951, the building was used as storage for equipment of the Voluntary Fire Brigade. The furnishings were stolen. In 1968 the news spread that the director Jerzy Hoffman was planning to burn down the tserkva for the film entitled Pan Wołodyjowski. The artistic community spontaneously raised alarm, and saved the tserkva. Instead, a special set evoking the village of Raszków was built in Chmiel, and then destroyed by fire for the film. In 1969 the building was transformed by the Roman Catholic community into a filial church of the parish in Lutowiska (today the parish in Dwernik).

The three-part log church, oriented eastward, is covered with wood boards. Above the nave there is a dome raised on an octagonal drum. On its top, as well as on the roofs above the narthex and chancel there are small pinnacles. A skirt roof, running along the entire perimeter of the building, is supported on the protruding log tails. The gable roofs are clad with sheet metal.

Inside we can see a coved ceiling, in the nave and the narthex - a false sail dome. The original furnishings have not been preserved.

In front of the tserkva there is a makeshift belfry with a bell from 1932 brought from Ruskie, a village which once existed nearby. Next to the church there is an interesting grave panel. Originally it was located inside a church which was demolished in 1746. After the new church was built the panel with an epitaph was left outside its perimeters. The mysterious inscriptions and signs for years aroused the imagination of historians and laymen. Ultimately, they were decoded by scholars in 2004.


Photo: Krzysztof Zajączkowski


Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej

This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.