Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
EU founding
Domyślne kolory Wersja żółta Wersja czarno biała Wersja czarno zółta
pl en ua
Page settings
Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
Szlak Historycznych Receptur


Former Greek Catholic Parish Tserkva of the Most Holy Mother of God Pokrov

The first tserkva was built here in the first half of the 1600s, another one in 1693. The one which has been preserved to our times was erected at their location in 1888; elements of the older structure were presumably used in its construction. This is Greek Catholic Parish Tserkva of the Mother of God Pokrov.

After the Ukrainian population was forcefully relocated from here, the building was transformed into the filial church of Protection of Our Most Holy Lady, branch of the parish in Cieszanów. The building was renovated in the late 1960s/early 1970s; subsequently, in 1986 a large vestibule, spoiling the overall design, was added in front of the narthex. Since a new brick church was built in 2001 the tserkva has no longer been used.

The three-part log church is oriented eastward. Dovetail joints and rafter tails, visible in the corners, support the eaves. The walls above the eaves are clad with vertical wood planks with moulding. The foundation was made of armour stone. The nave is covered with an octagonal dome supported on drum, and topped with a false roof lantern. The chancel adjoins a small sacristy on the northern side. Over the chancel there is a smaller dome, with a pinnacle. The narthex, covered with a gable roof, inside comprises the choir gallery.

We can see here interior furnishings from various periods between the 17th and the 19th century, including a five-tier iconostasis from the early 1700s.

Near the tserkva there is a brick zvonnitsa-type belfry from the early 1900s, covered with plaster and renovated in 1986. Unfortunately, there are no bells inside.

In the eastern outskirts of Chotylub there is an old cemetery with many magnificent Brusno-style tombstones and large monuments in the graves of the Zarzycki family, owners of the village.

In the village we can also see a wooden Plague Cross. According to the local lore the first cross of this type was set up here 140 years ago, for the end of a plague in the village.


Photo: Podkarpackie Regional Tourist Board


Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej

This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.