The former Greek Catholic Tserkva of Archangel Michael in Pielgrzymka has functioned as an Orthodox parish church since 1960. The precise date of its construction is unknown but it is believed to have been built in the late 1700s, while year 1872, specified in some sources, seems to be related to major renovation works.
Following the deportations in the 1940s it was not used and fell into decay. An Orthodox parish was established here in 1960, and necessary repairs were started immediately.
The three-part tserkva is oriented eastward. It comprises a tower with a post-and-frame structure and tapered walls. The tower, the nave and the chancel are topped with turrets. The load-bearing posts of the tower embrace part of the narthex, which is adjoined by a small porch. The nave and the chancel are covered with four-pitched roofs. The tower and the specific parts are connected by a gable roof.
Inside we can see an amply ornamented iconostasis and wall paintings from 1877. We can also see here original furnishings from an older tserkva existing in Pielgrzymka; these include the sovereign icons with Archangel Michael, and St. Nicholas, as well as Deisis, the Crucifixion, the Royal Doors and a worshipped icon of the Mother of God Hodegetria (in the side altar) painted on canvass and later affixed to old Royal Doors. It is said the icon came here from Moravia around 1649. According to another legend, centuries ago it was found by local people amidst branches of a nearby linden and brought to the tserkva by a procession. Some also claim that people from the Hungarian side tried to steal the icon but the local people managed to prevent the evil.
The Holy Sepulchre from 1684 is very unique. During the Paschal Triduum it is covered with an epitaphios. In the narthex there is an interesting stone baptismal font from 1636.
In Pielgrzymka there are two old cemeteries. Along the country roads and in the nearby graveyard we can see numerous shrines and stone crosses.
In the village there is also a monument in memory of Lemko people, victims of Talerhof camp.
Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz
This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.