Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
EU founding
Domyślne kolory Wersja żółta Wersja czarno biała Wersja czarno zółta
pl en ua
Page settings
Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
Szlak Historycznych Receptur


Complex of Wooden Buildings

Jaśliska is a very old town near the border; it was established in 1366 along the wine route from Hungary, to which it owed its high material status. This is also reflected by the remnants of the defensive walls from the 16th-17th century, a structure which could not be afforded by every town. Unfortunately, the economic downfall of Poland in the 17th-18th century as well as the competition from the nearby town of Dukla contributed to the impoverishment of Jaśliska, which eventually lost its municipal rights in 1934.

Its former prosperity is also reflected by the church of St. Catherine. The brick structure, built in 1724–1756, holds the benevolent painting of the Holy Mother Queen of Heaven and Earth – Our Lady of Jaśliska, created on a limewood panel in the 1400s. Deeply venerated by the local Poles, Lemkos and Slovaks, it attracted large numbers of pilgrims. On 10 June 1997 it was crowned by Pope John Paul II during a holy mass celebrated in Krosno.

Particularly attractive landmarks of wooden architecture can be seen in the main square. The oldest houses representing log-and-framing type of construction date from the mid-1800s, and can be seen on the western side of the square. Wine cellars dating from the 1500s have been preserved under some buildings. Impressive old houses can also be seen along Węgierska and Wolańska streets.

The houses which have been preserved include log as well as log-and-framing structures with dovetail joints. Some of them were covered with vertical wood planks in the late 19th/early 20th century. Interior designs include double-span or multiple-span layouts, with hallways to the side. Beam ceilings can be seen inside the buildings. Gable roofs extending beyond the face of the outer walls create picturesquely overhanging eaves.

Jaśliska had their own “cross bearers”. In 1657 King John Casimir endorsed the Compassion of Christ Congregation established here; its members used to wear red coats with white cross. Their main role was to watch the trading route and protect it against robbers.

Jaśliska became famous in 2019 as the place served as a setting for the Academy Award-nominated film Corpus Christi directed by Jan Komasa.


Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz


Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej

This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.