Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
EU founding
Domyślne kolory Wersja żółta Wersja czarno biała Wersja czarno zółta
pl en ua
Page settings
Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
Szlak Historycznych Receptur


Filial church (formerly hospital church) of the Transfiguration of Our Lord

Parish of Transfiguration of Our Lord in Cmolas was established in 1422. Church of Transfiguration of Our Lord was built in 1646–1648. The tower was added in 1674.

Tradition has it that on 6 August 1585, a thirteen-year-old son of a nobleman Wojciech Borowiusz, had a vision while walking back from the parish school. Amidst the clouds in the sky, he saw an apparition of Jesus with open arms, surrounded by all saints. Years later Borowiusz built a shrine at the location, as well as a hospital nearby. Built in 1646, Our Lord’s Transfiguration Church was also referred to as the hospital chapel. The high altar held a painting donated by Father Borowiusz, and depicting Transfiguration on Mount Tabor. After this area was taken over by Austria, the nearby hospital was liquidated.

The log building is oriented eastward and comprises a tower on the western side. The outer walls were clad with shingles, while the tower and the annex structures were covered with vertical wood planks. The chancel is adjoined by the sacristy on the northern side. On the roof ridge we can see a bell turret. Inside, the walls and the ceiling are decorated with figural and ornamental paintings, and illusionist decorations representing architectural features, from around 1735.

After a new church was built in Cmolas in 1972, the original painting was moved there, and its copy remained in the hospital chapel.

The original painting, dating from the mid-17th century, depicts Our Lord’s Transfiguration on Mount Tabor. In 1735 Duke Paweł Sanguszko donated silver dresses for the painting. They did not fit the figure of Jesus, due to which the image was repainted. In 1748 it was acknowledged for its miraculous deeds. Conservation works carried out in 1972 restored the original form of the image. The old polychrome paintings were uncovered in 1992.

In 1992 the chapel was moved to the location of the former parish church which in 1979 was relocated to Poręby Dymarskie.


Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz


Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej

This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.