Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
EU founding
Domyślne kolory Wersja żółta Wersja czarno biała Wersja czarno zółta
pl en ua
Page settings
Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
Szlak Historycznych Receptur


Filial Church of the Holy Trinity („Bargemen’s church”)

Also located in Ulanów, church of the Holy Trinity situated in the cemetery, about 500 metres from the parish church, was built in 1690. Its construction was financed by donations from Jędrzej Zamojski and the local townsmen mainly involved in barging. Because of this it is also called “bargemen’s church”. In 1742, alteration works were conducted and the vestibule was added.

The building was reconstructed in 1859– 1860 and 1979–1980. On the latter occasion fragments of wall paintings from the late 1600s were uncovered. Unfortunately, the church was set on fire on Good Friday of 29 March 2002. Seriously damaged inside, the church was rebuilt in 2002–2005.

The one-nave log church was built from larch wood. The chancel with the adjacent sacristy is smaller than the nave and is enclosed with semi-hexagonal walls. The vestibule features two uniquely shaped turrets. Over the main entrance there is a painted representation of the Holy Trinity. The roof is clad with shingles, and topped with an octagonal bell turret. Inside, the ceiling takes a form of a false barrel vault; it is supported in the nave by two pillars. The choir gallery, with late Baroque pipe organs from the late 1700s, is supported on columns.

The rood beam holds a crucifix from the 1700s. The late Baroque illusionist polychrome decorations from the 18th century were repainted in 1866. They depict scenes from the Old and the New Testament, the passing of St. Joseph, and bringing of Lazarus back to life. The Late Baroque high altar and pulpit are from the 1700s while the two Baroque side altars date from the late 1600s. 

The brick fencing and the belfry were built in 1899.


Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz



Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej

This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.