Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
EU founding
Domyślne kolory Wersja żółta Wersja czarno biała Wersja czarno zółta
pl en ua
Page settings
Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
Szlak Historycznych Receptur


Former Greek-Catholic Parish Tserkva of Nativity of the Mother of God

The earliest record of a church existing here dates from 1564. The present Greek-Catholic Tserkva of Nativity of the Mother of God was built in 1832, or - according to some researchers – earlier, and at that time it was only thoroughly remodelled.

After 1951 the church was abandoned or was used as a storage for fertilisers. As a result, the building was devastated. In the 1960s the church was thoroughly restored; unfortunately, it was impossible to reconstruct some features. In 1973 the building was acquired by Roman Catholics and it was used as a filial church of the parish in Krościenko until the 1990s.

This is a rare example of archaic Ruthenian architecture preserved in Poland, and one of only four landmarks representing the so-called simple Bojko style of construction.

The log church, oriented eastwards, features saddle-notch corner joints and is partly covered with shingles. The three-part structure is covered with multi-tiered pyramid roofs and a multi-tiered gable roof, all clad with shingles. An upper chamber above the narthex is an architectural relic of an older separate chapel. The entrances are on the western and southern sides. In the southern doors we can see 19th century fittings and lock. The skirt roof is supported on log ends. A Cyrillic inscription can be seen on the lintel in the southern entrance. The roof over the nave is topped with a Patriarchal cross. Inside, the nave is covered with a half-dome, fastened by two crossing bearers. In the chancel there is a coved ceiling, and in the sacristies, we can see beam ceilings. The nave is separated from the chancel by a rectangular opening in the wall.

The original furnishings have not been preserved. Some 17th century icons from Liskowate are in the holdings of the Castle Museum in Łańcut.

Near the tserkva there is a zvonnitsa-type belfry from the 1800s, topped with three turrets. In the nearby cemetery there are several old tombstones.


Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz


Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej

This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.