The wooden Greek Catholic tserkva of Protection of Our Most Holy Lady was built in 1936, at a location of an older church from 1822, and it represents the Ukrainian national style. Today it is a filial Roman Catholic church of Sts. Peter and Paul.
The three-part log church is covered with vertical wood boards. Its chancel, oriented towards the West, is adjoined by two octagonal sacristies covered with multi-pitched pyramidal roofs. The porch in front of the narthex is covered with hood-type roof featuring decorative latches. Above the central part there is a dome supported on a tall octagonal drum. Around the narthex there are roofed arcades. The church has recently been thoroughly restored.
The old interior furnishings have not been preserved. They were stolen after the Ukrainian population was relocated from here in the 1940s.
In the vicinity we can see old tombstones from the times of the previous tserkva. One of these, made in Lviv, decorated with a Ukrainian inscription written in the Latin alphabet, is significantly damaged. The bell is hanging on a beam between two ancient linden trees.
In 1939 the village had a population of 320, including 285 Greek Catholics, 15 Roman Catholics and 20 Jews.
Photo: Podkarpackie Regional Tourist Board
This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.