Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
EU founding
Domyślne kolory Wersja żółta Wersja czarno biała Wersja czarno zółta
pl en ua
Page settings
Szlak Architektury Drewnianej
Szlak Historycznych Receptur


Parish Church of St. John the Baptist


A church of St. John the Baptist existed in Załęże as far back as 1326. The present church was built in 1760 and the old one was destroyed by fire in 1753. The original structure was changed in course of numerous alterations. After a new church was built in 2000, the old one is no longer used.

It is a three-part log building made of larch wood, oriented eastward and supported by stone foundations. The nave is adjoined on the western side by post-and-frame tower with a false bell chamber at the top, and a vestibule on the ground floor; the outer walls of the latter are decorated with pilasters. The body of the building is covered with a gable roof, with a turret over the chancel. The outer walls are covered with vertical wood boards.

Inside the church there is a flat coved ceiling. The walls and the ceiling are embellished with Art Nouveau paintings from 1777. The pulpit features images of the Evangelists. The church has the main altar and two side altars.

The most valuable furnishings which were moved to the new church include the Gothic painting of the Holy Mother and the Child (dating from ca. 1480) from the high altar, as well as a Gothic painting of the Virgin of the Apocalypse with golden background (from ca. 1480), and a wooden crucifix from the 1500s.

There is also an interesting wooden baptismal font with scenes painted over metal plates and depicting Presentation of Jesus at the Temple, and Baptism of Jesus in the Jordan. In the sacristy there is a reliquary of St. John of Nepomuk.

The church is surrounded by a wall with a gate from 1870.

Next to the church there was a hospital for old and poor people which was erected near the parish school. The facility still existed in the 1900s.


Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz



Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej Szlak Architektury Drewnianej

This website has been modernized with the financial support of the European Union under the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020. The responsibility for its content lies solely with the Podkarpackie Regional Tourism Board and cannot, in any case, be treated as a reflection of the position of the European Union, the Managing Authority, or the Joint Technical Secretariat of the Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Poland-Belarus-Ukraine 2014-2020.